Today I decided to write about something that always without fail makes me feel better no matter what, a smile. I don’t know if this has happened to you but I’ve had days when I wish I could just fall off the face of the earth and then out of no where someone a total stranger smiles at you and you feel like the luckiest person on earth. Has this happened to you?
     It’s happened to me before a couple of times, in times when things just didn’t seem right at all. I remember one special case I was going through a loss of a close friend, and I was very close to lose someone who was very, very dear to me. My life was a complete mess, my grades slipped, I paid no attention to anything, I’m sure you know how that goes. One morning while I was thinking of all the horrible things that had been going on someone on the shuttle smiled at me and I smiled back. We started a small conversation the usual “good morning, etc. etc.”. One smile changed my life. When I think back I wonder what my life would’ve been if that person hadn’t smiled at me that morning, but you know it doesn’t matter because they did. I never saw them again but without them knowing they changed my life.

     Children. This is something that I had to add to this post. I can’t stop thinking of all the times a child has made me smile. Children are amazing, and full of energy (I should know I have three little siblings) and they never fail to make me smile. Have you heard a child’s laughter? I know this might sound corny and whatnot but its just beautiful and contagious. Sometimes when I’m studying and my monsters are running around and playing around the house, I admit I get annoyed by the noise but once I go outside my room and hear them laughing I cant help but to smile, sometimes I even join the chaos. Or waking up to see your little sister smiling at you waiting for you to wake up, it’s a beautiful sight, children never fail to make one smile.

     I’m sure many of you have had similar encounters, perhaps you haven’t taken the time to think about it, of how something so small as a smile can change everything. I was talking to one of my friends about this and they seemed to agree. Suddenly she remembered a few occasions when someone had smiled at her and that had changed her whole day, her life. We take these little things for granted sometimes. We go day by day with our own busy lives yet we don’t take some time to think about how others have changed our lives or even how we have changed someone’s life too. A smile is very powerful, by smiling you can even change your own way of thinking!

       This is the reason why I encourage people to smile, who knows you may make the biggest difference in someone’s life.

Smile, make a difference.

-Casper

 

 

