Back in June I wrote a post of the things that I wanted to be when I was little. I wanted to be an explorer, a chef, and an astronomer. Seems like yesterday that I wrote that post, but its been a few months. I can tell you right now that that post alone made me think so much during the Summer. Yet another example of how little things can change your life.

     I didn’t go to school during the summer, I could’ve but due to budget cuts many classes were cancelled  and many got full right away. I stated in my “About” page that I’m currently studying a field related to science, and I love it. However that post made me think of all the things I wanted to be and put aside to follow the current career path that I’m in.

     I told myself back in high school when I was applying to different colleges that I was not going to back out on my career plan. I was going to chose a major and stick through the end. I never wanted to think that I was doing the wrong thing. After that post I got myself to thinking. Is my current career what I want for the rest of my life? Although  I thought for months and months my answer was the same time after time, yes. This is want I want to do, I love it.

     The truth is that although I love my current career my heart is also somewhere else. I had always had that exploring side to me. I was a curious child, and adventurer. I didn’t like to limit myself because I wanted to know more, see more. My current career in many ways is similar and yet very opposite to this. There is no Explorer Major as far as I know, and if there was I think I’d be a double major by now.

     What  I fear is that by the time I’m done with college my dreams and hopes of being a silly explorer will fade away with the life of a typical person. I have decided that I have stuck through thick and thin in my current major I will stick with my goals of one day being an explorer. For now I will finish what I started, I will continue to live my dream as a scientist. When I get that diploma in my hand  I will begin a new journey, the journey I have been waiting for a long time.

Smile, because it’s never too late to follow your dreams.

Sig

