I remember a few years back trying to bake some cookies only to have them burnt, not baked, or just weird tasting. Ever since last year I decided to give baking another try. It was a challenge after many weird looking cookies I wondered if I would even make something worth looking at. After a couple of months of trying and trying I’ve been getting better at the whole baking subject. Cakes come out looking like cakes, cookies look like cookies. I even tried making pies. Now recipes I try seem easier, I learned a few tricks from my own mistakes and tricks that were passed down to me from my older sister as well.

Usually I bake when I really want to try out a recipe or when I want to practice for something big. Sometimes I bake because it has become a form of relaxation exercise and usually do it before major exams. My favorite part of baking and cooking is when people enjoy the food. Food sure brings people together. Amazing isn’ it? How something as simple as food can bring people together for some time. I must say from my experience it’s beautiful. I’m sure there are other things that bring people together like sports, important events, books, even rocks bring people together.

All I know is that I am glad that I didn’t give up after many weird looking cookies and I’m glad I gave it another try. My baking experience is only a small expample of life out there  sometimes we get knocked down time and time again. In the end it doesn’t matter how many times you were knocked down but the fact that you got up again. With that said, don’t give up even if its on something small (like my cookies) because small things can bring to big changes.

Smile, don’t give up.

