When I was little coffee was forbidden to me, I was even told it was disgusting and that little kids were not to have any. I accepted that only a few people could drink coffee and I thought that those people were the “cool people”. That was back in the day a couple years ago. Then I started college and the amount of work started to pile up on my desk, the number or pages to be read and the number or projects to be worked on were greater than anything I had ever had. I would go nights without sleeping, actually Saturdays were my sleeping days, my breaks were in between reading assignments, dinner was usually on top of a book or two. That was when I was a freshman, over the months I learned how to balance my life out a bit more and the piles of work didn’t seem as bad as before. But it was during one of those freshman days that my mom seeing me on the verge of using a book as a pillow brought me a cup of coffee. That’s when it all started.

Image from Psychology Today and the blog Stuck by Anneli Rufus

I understand that many people think coffee is bad, and I agree to a certain extent. Having coffee in moderation is not so bad. I drink coffee not because of its effects but for its flavor, it’s instant aroma. To many people a cup of coffee is just like another cup of coffee. To me each cup is different and unique in its way. It varies by the person who makes it, ingredients used, the type of bean, the process, timing, there is just so much to one single cup of coffee that makes it special.

A cup of coffee can taste different depending on the time of day and your mood as well. To me drinking coffee is an art, a time of appreciation of the little things that life has to offer. When I have a cup of coffee I like to appreciate the moment, to take in every sip slowly, savoring the moment, enhancing the flavors and aromas many people take for granted. I love coffee, because every cup is like the very first cup, fresh and new.

Smile, take a moment to appreciate something you enjoy.

