When did I get into writing? That is the question I’ve been asking myself lately. My career field is far from writing… alright I have to write but my thing is numbers, logic, algorithms, that’s what I do day in and day out. I deal with machine languages that make no sense to anyone I know outside my field. So how on Earth did I get into this?

For those that don’t know this blog started off with a whole rant I had going on in my head one Saturday morning on my way home. It became a basis to my writing practice for an exam I had to take for school (which I passed with flying colors, surprisingly). After taking my test, I continued. Why? I liked it. Amazingly. I’ll be honest with you writing essays in school was a drag for me, I disliked it greatly. The topics were always so… tedious. I wanted to write, what “I” wanted, not about some cheesy topic I didn’t have any interest about. I know there are people out there that know what I mean.

"Always set the trail, never follow the path"

 

I have a great love for art. All kinds of art, always have. I had a professor in high school who told me I would do great in art, and I also had another professor who said I would do great in sciences. Art has become a hobby of mine, science my career and practically life. To me, art is everywhere just as much as science is everywhere. I see art in marvelous paintings and sculptures, I see art in exquisite dishes (oh how beautiful can food be!), I see art in movement, in expressions even simple as a smile. Art to me is everywhere, and I love it. Writing is art (at least to me it is). Its a way for me to express myself, I’m not a talented writer, and unfortunately I’m not artistically talented either. But I can write something, and to me that is more than enough.

I’m also writing a novel on the side. One of my “Life Projects” or what I put down on my bucket list. I haven’t finished it, and to be honest I can see it taking me years to finish. I have ideas, I have the story, characters all ready, I just have to write it all down. I’ve heard about NaNoWriMo before from a few friends of mine who have tried it, such an interesting idea it is. Writing 50,000 words in one month, writing a novel that is. So here I am trying to write a novel that I have thought about for months, and will most likely be writing for years. I, have pledge to try NaNoWriMo next year, with a whole new novel of course. If you knew how chaotic my life is you would immediately say this is a crazy idea, and it is. But crazy can be fun, challenging, and new. That is exactly what I’m looking for.

Smile, don’t be afraid to challenge yourself.

