Annabelle Breakey, Elaine Johnson and Margo True. "Grilled Cilantro Chicken with Pickled Tomato and Avocado Salsa" recipe from http://www.sunset.com -- Doesn't it just look delish?!

People are often surprised when they find out that I don’t eat red meat or pork. When they do they ask me if its because I’m an animal lover, if I’m protesting against animal cruelty, or if its a religious thing. I’m not going to lie, I’m big on being against animal cruelty but that doesn’t mean that I go around condemning anyone who eats a hamburger. It’s like saying well lets condemn lions for killing zebras because they are hungry. We are hunters, we strive to survive, hey its just one of those laws of nature, survival of the fittest. I don’t understand why it’s so hard for people to understand that I dropped red meat, pork and fish (expect tilapia) out of choice.

I don’t do it to live a “healthier” lifestyle, I just don’t like red meat that much and decided to drop it all together. It’s a personal choice. I won’t lie last year when I started off, the first week all I did was crave In-N-Out, but I said to myself I must have self-discipline. Actually if there is anything this whole new lifestyle has taught me is that, self-discipline. I won’t lie there have been times when I felt tempted, not to mention that my family is big on BBQ and the like.

As the months have progressed it became more and more natural for me. Its not that easy, sometimes I get very tired of just eating chicken and turkey, not to mention that when I go out to eat restaurants don’t offer many plate options on chicken but rather offer a plethora of meat dishes. When I go to the store to grab those quick frozen dinners.. ah yes the majority is beef based. My options are limited, but that’s OK, it leaves room for creativity.

What I have noticed is that I started to eat way more veggies, and healthier meals to compensate for my nutrients (that’s a big plus). Overall, I feel better too. Its been a few months now since I became hardcore chicken only, and you know what? I love it! I may get criticized, I may get funny looks, but this is who I am good or bad I am a pollotarian by choice.

Smile, even when you are criticized. =)

