Some things start at home first, like education, and respect. But there are other things that start at home too and one of them is learning how to interact with others, and many other valuable lessons in life. My early childhood at home was quite awkward yet it wasn’t so bad. Most of my time I spent living in a home with my mother being a single parent, and looking up to my two brothers as the fatherly figure that I always wanted but never really had.

I learned a lot of things from the struggles my family went through financially, romantically and all in between. Although I learned so much over all these years, I think I learned more in the last year and a half or so.

Ever since my dad came back home I learned sooo much. Not exactly because he took that role of fatherly figure but because I learned that sometimes its never to late to turn things around. I learned that sometimes the grouchiest of people can be the most loving, that sometimes the simplest of gestures can go a long way, and that sometimes after many years love can still prevail.

Lately watching my parents being more romantic, and working together like a team has made me immensely happy. I’m very happy to see a different side of my mom, a more vulnerable side of her that I rarely got to see. Seeing that side of her on a daily basis has really changed things around the house. Sure she’s still pretty OCD, and bossy but overall the mood has been lightened and I love that.

So what have I learned? I learned that even love starts at home, the way you treat your significant other is extremely important. Looking at my parents in their good days makes me hope that as I grow older I too can keep appreciating the little things in life.

Smile, there’s so much to learn in the places we see each day. 

