I was watching the news recently when they started to report on the downsizing of the post office [Article from the Washington Post “]. Interestingly one of the news anchors said “Who does that?” in reference to who still wrote hand written letters and sent them through the post office. Immediately I thought, I do! So this downsizing of the post office is a very sad thing for me.

Every week (sometimes twice a week) I use my walks as a way to go drop off my letters to my sweetheart, its one of the things I always look forward to every week. I love writing him letters, people always ask me how I find a way to write something every day. I just do, since I can’t talk to him the way we used to I take it all to my letters and write what I would be telling him if he was here. All in all it makes me feel a lot closer to him. makes me feel that whenever I am writing he is there listening to what I’m saying.

What happened? I often ask myself why must we be such a sucked-into-technology kind of society, ironic since technology is basically my life (career wise). I wish more people wrote hand letters to other people instead of using E-Mail or text. It shows people you care, to take the time to actually write down words, its a rare act nowadays.

I LOVE snail mail, seriously love it! (Why I Walk On Sunshine, Snail Mail) Even more so now that it has a whole new level of meaning to me. Whenever I get an envelope with my sweetheart’s name my heart skips beats and beats faster, and well it just goes crazy. It gives me great sadness to know that people are not using the post that much now. (WHY?! WHY?! WHY?!) Look at how many jobs are getting lost just by having so many post offices closed. Yes, I know the budget… its still very frustrating. The wonderful people at the USPS have kept me sane, delivering my letters and bringing me mine these last couple of weeks. I smile whenever I see a USPS truck because I know that one of those trucks will one day bring me another letter from someone. With all this said, I hope that everyone out there that reads this post will write at least one hand written letter to someone, surprise someone! Make someone smile! And if you know someone that works at the USPS let them know this crazy girl thanks them for making me smile everyday.

Smile, be that person that says “me!” whenever someone asks of who still writes handwritten letters. 

